The 9 Waves of Consciousness Evolution
The Carl Calleman’s Theory

translation by Nelly Lewin

For Carl Calleman, the source of the underworlds – or evolution waves – in the Mayan Calendar are to be found in the cosmic tree of life, “the core of the sky” as the Mayas called it. Its pulse or vibration changes, transmitted from the Universe to us, impact our consciousness and thus our perception of reality. These changes of vibration are what make us go through one underworld to another. Adam and Eve’s eviction from Eden is an illustration of this in our western tradition.



A universal Symbol

In all human traditions, mention is made of a Tree of Life. It is both  the Tree of the Garden of Eden, the Yggdrasil or World Tree of the Nordic people, the slavonic Svetovid, the Tree of Life of the Mesoamerican peoples, the Sephiroth of the Kabbalah. It is to be found as well in Greece for example, in China, in Ancient Egypt, In the Indian Bhagavad-Gita, in the Altai with the Tatars, with the Essenes, the Amerindian tribes or in the Tibetan Mandalas.

Far from being only a mythological symbol, the Tree of Life is also present in the Baha’i Faith, the most recent of monotheist religions (created in 1863) or even in the Book of Mormon.

It has crossed the Ages and influenced all the aspects of human creativity, like painting, literature, movies, video games. We can also see it on the French coins of 1 and 2 Euro.

Ancient Egypt (Karnak Temple)

Part 3: The Tree of Life

(image issue de la page “NASA Astronomy picture of the day - 9 septembre 2009” un jour 1-IMIX, comme par hasard...)

Yggdrasil (Scandinavia)

Olmc Codex (Central America)

Tree of Life  (India)

Tree of Life  ( Celt Tradition)

Svetovid (Slavonic Tradition)

Tree of the Sephiroth (Kabbalah)

Tree of Life (Essenians)

The Maya Tree of Life

As with every human tradition, The Mayans have their Tree of Life. It is called Yaxche - or Yakch’e. An illustration of it can be found in the Temple of the Cross at Palenque (Chiapas – Mexico) or on the Pakal’s sarcophagus.

One Axis, Several Directions

Let us go back to the Calleman’s theory on the topic. The common thread that seems to emerge from all the Tree of Life representations is the Creation organized around one central axis and several directions.

The Mayas had chosen the kapok tree  (Ceiba pendrata) as their most sacred Tree of Life and for several reasons.

First of all, it is the tallest tree in the Mesoamerican rain forest, it can be  30 to 70 meter high and can easily grow well above the other trees, competing in this with the Mayan temples (or could it be the other way round?).

Its singles out itself by its branches which are almost perpendicular to the trunk, symbolizing the 4 directions of the world.

And finally, the kapok tree shelters a whole ecosystem, moss, mushrooms, insects, reptiles and birds. In short, it is a genuine Tree of Life...

Before the “Conquista”, the central squares in the Mayan towns were planted with a Ceiba Tree, a living symbol of the Tree of Life in the core of each city.

Temple of the Cross, Palenque

(Linda Schele’s Drawing n°170)  http://research.famsi.org/schele.html

For the Mayas it figured the axis mundi, center of the 4 directions and also represents a connection between the three worlds: the underworld, the Earth and the heavens.

The cross is the symbol of this Tree of Life. Upon landing in Yucatan, the Spanish Invaders were quite surprised to see big green crosses on top of the temples.

That probably explains the transition, the later adhesion to a Christian religion by the Mesoamericans: the cross, the object of their fervour allows them to practice the old religion under cover of the Christian faith; other practices, another sacerdotal language, other prayers, nevertheless an identical symbol.

In 2004 Matthijs H.D. van der Wiel wrote an article entitled Mayan Cosmology ”, here is an excerpt:

“The World Tree, Yakch’e, represents the Maya view on the Universe. It is probably based on a view of the sky. At the time of creation of the World, at the dawn on the 13 of August, the Milky Way runs though the zenith from south to north. This might be a good explanation for the vertical structure (the tree) in the Maya view of the Cosmos.

The four directions in figure 3 (at the left) represent the four corners of the Earth: red in the East, white in the North, black in the West and yellow in the South. The horizontal bar in the middle is the Earth, sometimes also represented as a giant crocodile, apparently because the structure of the soil on which Maya grew their crops resembled the back of a reptilian animal.

The Maya Tree of Life connecting the 3 Worlds

Klimt’s Painting

Central part of french 2 Euros coin

picture and poster of the “The Fountain” movie

A Ceiba tree in front and a Maya temple in the background

A Ceiba tree with  its perpendicular branches

During these last years, observations in the outer space has allowed detecting “anomalies” which tend to demonstrate that the universe is anisotropic, i.e. it is inclined to develop from a central axis and along some directions, not in a uniform way.

Image from the presentation  Is there a preferred direction in the universe (P. Jain, IIT Kanpur)

The entire structure of the creation thus seems organized around axis and directions, be it a macrocosm (universe, galaxy, solar system, planet) or a microcosm (cell, molecule, atom, subatomic space). From an anthropomorphic perspective, Man is therefore placed in the middle of a creation where everything is established in the same orderly manner, according to the “As above, so below” principle.

The present scientific breakthroughs seem to rejoin the older civilization mythological concepts.

Joshua Tree National Park (EVOSIA)

The heaven is located at the branches of the Tree, where the gods live.

The cyclic nature of the motion of the sun was somehow realised: during the night, the Sun passes through Xibalba, the Underworld.

The entire cosmos is represented as interconnected parts: Xibalba (the Underworld), Cab (the Earth), Caan (the Heaven) and Yakch’e, the World Tree which connects all of the other components. Caan is divided into thirteen steps: six ascending from the eastern (red) horizon to the zenith, the top level, where Itzamna resides, and six more steps descending to the western (black) horizon, following the Sun. Xibalba, below the horizon, has nine levels: four descending down to the Nadir, and four ascending back to the surface of the earth. ”


The image here below gives an idea of the startling impression that can offer a vertical view of the Milky Way. Il is, no doubt, what the Ancient Mayas had in mind and to which the text above is referring.

Les 9 Ondes d’évolution
de la Conscience

la théorie de Carl Calleman

Carl Calleman situe la source des inframondes ou ondes d’évolution du calendrier maya dans l’arbre de vie cosmique, le “coeur des cieux” selon la dénomination maya.  Ce sont ses pulsations ou changements de vibration qui, en diffusant de l’univers jusqu’à nous, influent sur notre conscience et donc sur notre perception de la réalité. Ce sont ces changements de vibration qui nous font passer d’un inframonde à l’autre. L’expulsion d’Adam et Eve du jardin d’Eden en est une illustration dans notre tradition occidentale.


Un symbole universellement répandu

Dans toutes les traditions humaines, il est fait mention d’un Arbre de Vie. C’est à la fois l’Arbre du Jardin d’Eden, l’Yggdrasil des populations nordiques, le Svetovid slave, l’arbre de vie des peuples mésoaméricains, l’arbre des Sephiroth de la Kabbale. On le trouve aussi par exemple dans la Grèce, la Chine et l’Egypte de l’Antiquité, dans la Bhagavad-Gita, chez les Tatars de l’Altaï, les Esséniens, les tribus amérindiennes ou encore sur les mandalas tibétains.

Loin d’être un symbole uniquement mythologique, l’Arbre de Vie est aussi présent dans la religion Bahaï, la plus récente des religions monothéistes (créée en 1863) ou encore dans le livre des mormons.

Ce symbole a traversé les âges. Il influence tous les pans de la créativité humaine : peinture, littérature, cinéma, jeux vidéo. On le retrouve même sur les pièces françaises de 1 et de 2 euros.

Egypte ancienne (temple de Karnak)

Partie 3 : l’Arbre de Vie

(image issue de la page “NASA Astronomy picture of the day - 9 septembre 2009” un jour 1-IMIX, comme par hasard...)

Yggdrasil (Scandinavie)

Codex Olmèque (Amérique centrale)

Arbre de vie  (Inde)

Arbre de vie  (tradition celte)

Svetovid (tradition slave)

Arbre des Sephiroth (Kabbale)

Arbre de Vie (Esséniens)

L’Arbre de Vie chez les mayas

Comme dans toutes les traditions humaines, l’Arbre de Vie est présent chez les Mayas sous le nom de Yaxche ou Yakch´e. On en trouve par exemple une représentation dans le Temple de la Croix à Palenque ou sur le sarcophage de Pakal.

Un axe et des directions

Revenons à l’Arbre de Vie dans la théorie de Carl Calleman. Le point commun entre toutes les représentations de l’Arbre de Vie est qu’il s’agit d’une organisation de la Création autour d’un axe et des directions.

Un arbre, plus que tous les autres, symbolique l’Arbre de Vie pour les Mayas. il s’agit du kapokier ou fromager ou bois coton (Ceiba pendrata). A cela plusieurs raisons.

Tout d’abord c’est l’un des plus grands arbres de la forêt vierge mésoaméricaine. Il peut atteindre de 30 à 70 mètres de haut et s’élever au-dessus des autres arbres, rivalisant en hauteur avec les temples mayas (à moins que ne ce soit l’inverse).

Une de ses  particularités est d’avoir des branches qui partent quasiment à la perpendiculaire du tronc, symbolisant en cela les 4 directions du monde.

Enfin, il abrite tout un écosystème, des mousses, des champignons, des insectes, des reptiles, des oiseaux. C’est, en somme, un véritable arbre de vie...

Avant la conquête espagnole, les places des villes mayas étaient ornées d’un kapokier - ou arbre Ceiba - : un symbole vivant de l’Arbre de Vie au sein de chaque cité.

Panneau du Temple de la Croix, Palenque

(dessin n°170 de Linda Schele)  http://research.famsi.org/schele.html

Pour les Mayas, l’Arbre de Vie représente l’axe du monde autour duquel s’organisent les 4 directions. C’est un lien qui relie les trois mondes : le monde souterrain, la Terre et les cieux.

La croix est le symbole de cet Arbre de vie. Certains temples mayas étaient d’ailleurs surmontés de grandes croix vertes, chose qui surprit grandement les espagnols à leur arrivée dans le Yucatan.

Ceci explique probablement le passage, l’adhésion ultérieure à une religion chrétienne des Amérindiens et leur adoration de la croix qui leur permet de pratiquer leur ancien culte sous couvert de Christianisme : autres pratiques, autre langue sacerdotale, autres prières mais un symbole identique.

Dans l’article Mayan Cosmology (2004) de Matthijs H.D. van der Wiel, il est écrit :

A l’aube du 13 août, la voix lactée est positionnée suivant l’axe du zénith du sud au nord. Ce pourrait être une bonne explication de la structure verticale (l’arbre) dans la vision maya du Cosmos.

Les quatre directions représentent les 4 coins de la Terre. La barre horizontale au milieu est la Terre, parfois représentée comme un crocodile géant, apparemment parce que la nature du sol sur lequel les Mayas faisait pousser leurs récoltes ressemble au dos d’un reptile. Les Cieux se trouvent dans les branches de l’arbre où les dieux résident.

La nature cyclique du mouvement du soleil était ainsi conceptualisée :  durant la nuit, le soleil passait à travers Xibalba, le Monde du Dessous.

L’Arbre de Vie maya reliant les trois mondes

Peinture de Klimt

Partie centrale d’une pièce de 2 Euros

Image et affiche du film “The Fountain”

Un arbre Ceiba au premier plan avec un temple maya au second

Un arbre Ceiba avec ses branches perpendiculaires

Au cours des dernières années, des observations de l’espace lointain ont détectées des “anomalies” qui tendent à prouver que l’univers est anisotropique, c’est à dire qu’il a tendance à se développer à partir d’un axe central et selon certaines directions et non de manière uniforme.

Image tirée de la présentation Is there a preferred direction in the universe (P. Jain, IIT Kanpur)

La structure entière de la création semble donc organisée autour d’un axe et des directions, qu’il s’agisse du macrocosme (univers, galaxie, système solaire, planète) ou de microcosme (cellule, molécule, atome, espace subatomique). D’un point de vue anthropomorphique, l’Homme se situe donc au milieu d’une création où tout est organisé de la même façon, selon le principe “Au-dessus, comme en bas” (as Above, so Below).

Les avancées scientifiques actuelles semblent donc rejoindre les conceptions mythologiques des premières civilisations.

Joshua Tree National Park (EVOSIA)

Le Cosmos en entier est représenté comme des parties interconnectées : Xibalba (le Monde du Dessous), Cab (la Terre), Caan (Les Cieux) et Yakch´ e, L’arbre Monde qui connecte les trois”.

L’image ci-dessous donne une idée de l’impression saisissante que peut produire la vision d’une voie lactée verticale. C’est sans doute l’image que les anciens mayas avaient en tête et qui est évoquée dans le texte ci-dessus.